Major boxing championships and organizations

Today there are dozens of boxing organizations worldwide that sanction boxing championships at all levels. The most influential of them are the International Boxing Federation (IBF), World Boxing Council (WBC), the World Boxing Organization (WBO), and the World Boxing Association (WBA). Learn more about world's largest boxing organizations and championships.

    The modern world of boxing is very tangled. Dozens of world's boxing organizations persistently competing with each other sanction world championship bouts in all weight classes. Our review of major boxing organizations and championships (note: women's world boxing championships are not covered) will help readers understand the situation in the today's world boxing.
    World Boxing Organization (WBO)
    WBO is one of the major boxing organizations in the world presently recognizing "world" champions in the professional boxing. Its headquarters are located in Puerto Rico.
    Shortly after its inception in 1988, the WBO was staging bouts of boxing world championships around the world. The first fight at their boxing championships was for the vacant title of Super-Middleweight, between James Kinchen and Thomas Hearns, where Hearns won by referees' decision. The WBO has gain popularity with the help of pro boxers such as British Chris Eubank, who fought in 24 fights of WBO boxing championships in the 1990's and by large owing to his capability of making a bout spectacular even when his rival was sluggish.
    World Boxing Association (WBA)
    WBA is one of the largest boxing organizations sanctioning official bouts, which awards the title of WBA world boxing championships, at the highest level.
    These days the WBA has introduced a new concept they had called Super-Champion, a concept that a lot of boxing fans believe to be bizarre and harmful to the credibility of boxing. A WBA's Super-Champion is acknowledged when a boxer wins a WBA title at the same time with as a minimum one other title (sanctioned by WBA's rivals such as IBF, the WBC, the WBO) in one weight category.
    World Boxing Council (WBC)
    WBC has been operating since 1963 being a severe competitor to World Boxing Association and, in accordance with its originators, a way to develop next-level standards in professional boxing. It belongs to the group of world's major boxing organizations who sanction bouts of boxing world championships, along with the IBF, WBO, and a dozen others.
    Classic, deep-green belts of WBC's boxing championships portray the flags of all countries-members; the flags of the pioneer twelve nations-representatives are features on the belts' golden plates.
    It was WBC who in 1983 took quite extraordinary venture reducing the length of bouts in its boxing championships, from 15 to 12 rounds - a step other boxing organizations shortly followed (in terms of safety of the boxers).
    International Boxing Federation (IBF)
    IBF is one of numerous boxing organizations which sanction bouts of boxing championships, alongside the WBC, WBO, WBA, and others.
    The first world champion of IBF was Marvin Camel, ex-world champion of WBC. During the first years after the inception, however, the IBF was mostly in shadow. But in 1984, when IBF recognized Aaron Pryor, Larry Holmes, Donald Curry and Marvin Hagler as IBF world champions, it became to get out of the obscurity. Since then, the IBF has sanctioned a number of important fights and boxing championships.

This artilce has been viewed: 4 times this month, and 341 times in total since published.