Top-ranked tennis boys

The development of junior tennis has historically been on the list of the most priority concerns of world's tennis associations who make all efforts in order to provide young and talented tennis boys and girls with the opportunity to develop into the real tennis stars and win the most prestigious tennis events in the world tennis.

Today tennis is one of Olympic sports played by all ages and at all levels of society in many countries throughout the world.

It is the International Tennis Federation (ITF) who governs the body of tennis and whose responsibility is to determine the Rules of Tennis and, in cooperation with other tennis federations and associations, support various tennis development programs including junior tennis development.

Junior tennis development has always had one of the highest priorities on the world tennis development program. Numerous local tournament circuits have been devised by tennis associations.

During 2004, 25 regional circuits have been maintained by the ITF development programs, that has made it possible for the most talented tennis boys and girls in the 14&under age, 18, and 16 groups throughout the world to compete against each other.

Players who do well at regional circuits are commonly invited to join international touring team. The touring team program has a goal to smooth the progress of the transition of gifted tennis boys and girls through regional competitions onto the ranks of professionals. In 2004, 17 touring teams involved 151 players from 71 countries worldwide. Former members of ITF Touring Team include Nicolas Massu (Chile), Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil), Nicolas Lapentti (Ecuador), Angelique Widjaja (Indonesia), Leander Paes (India), Eleni Daniilidou (Greece), Paradorn Srichaphan (Thailand), Younes El Aynaoui (Morocco), Cara Black (Zimbabwe), Florin Mergea (Romania) and Jarkko Nieminen (Finland).

ITF development programs also award travel grants to gifted players from developing countries for a particular program of tournaments. During 2004, 57 talented tennis boys and girls of 27 nations have been awarded travel grants and thus had an opportunity to take part in events that were held outside their country. Furthermore, ITF awards prize-money grants to assist developing countries with the hosting of professional tennis events and to spread competitive opportunities all over the world.

The following list of tennis boys contains the junior Grand Slam Champions over the last decade:
2005 -- Donald Young (USA)
2004 -- Gael Monfils (FRA)
2003 -- Marcos Baghdatis (CYP)
2002 -- Clement Morel (FRA)
2001 -- Janko Tipsarevic (YUG)
2000 -- Andy Roddick (USA)
1999 -- Kristian Pless (DEN)
1998 -- Julien Jeanpierre (FRA)

Among the other most successful players who showed an outstanding performance in the rank of junior player are Gael Monfils, Richard Casquet, Marin Cilic, Gilles Muller, Andy Rodick, Kristian Pless, Roger Federer, Arnaud Di Pasquale, Sebastien Grosjean, Mariano Zabaleta, Federico Browne, Marchelo Rios, Brian Dunn, Thomas Enqvist, Jason Stoltenberg, Thierry Tuslasne, Andrea Gaudenz, Nicklas Kulti, Nicolas Pereira, Jason Stoltenberg and others. An overwhelming majority of tennis boys mentioned above at some time became ITF Junior World Champions and went down to the history of tennis.

This artilce has been viewed: 0 times this month, and 285 times in total since published.