The list of World Series of Poker Champions in the last two decades

World Series of Poker has been held in Las Vegas since 1970. And since 1971 on, it has been the tournament with money prizes. For more than 20 years Series of Poker winners have not only been winning incredible money pots and golden bracelets, but also a worldwide renown and a big honor to get their photographs placed in Binion's Gallery of Series of Poker Champions.
The two largest and most prestigious poker tournaments in the world are the World Poker Tour championship event and the World Series of Poker, both held at Binion's Horseshoe casino in Las Vegas. The World Series has traditionally been featured on ESPN which along with the official WSOP web site are dominant sources of all-round information on World Series of Poker champions, results and schedule.

Only in the year of 2005, the World Series was not hosted at Binion's Horseshoe Casino. However, the last several days of the central event were run in the fabulous Benny's Bullpen. Upcoming tournaments will be hosted at one of the properties of Harrah's Entertainment.

The World Series of Poker is acknowledged as the most prominent set of poker tournaments in the world. Though the WSOP made its debut in 1970, the suggestion of the annual tournament at the Horseshoe's was in reality conceived more than 20 years earlier. Thus, in the year of 1970 seven players took part in the first Series of Poker event at Binion's Horseshoe. John Moss, the winner of that tournament, received a prize of a silver cup and became the first of the Series of Poker Champions.

Today, WSOP is the most prestigious set of poker tournaments worldwide. An impressive $10,000 buy-in of the no-limit Texas Hold'Em competition is the classic attribute of this fantastic tournament. The main prize of WSOP not only involves a huge money pot, but also a traditional golden bracelet. In addition, all WSOP winners get their picture placed into Binion's Gallery of Series of Poker Champions.

There have been a lot of remarkable events in the WSOP history. For example, in 1982 Jack Straus won the tournament and joined the community of Series of Poker winners after realizing that one $500 chip is still with him when he considered he was eliminated from the competition.

A handful of players have been victorious at the WSOP several times. Stu Ungar won the tournament in 1980th, 1981st, and finally in 1997th. John Chan won twice in a row in 1987th and 1988th. The next year, in 1989th, Chan became 2nd to the youngest World Series major event winner ever Phil Hellmuth.

Perhaps, triumph at the WSOP turns people into the legends. Some of the existing poker legends though, have tried to win the WSOP main event for years and never succeeded. Some of these recognized legends are: Dave Ulliott, T. J. Cloutier, Barry Greenstein, Erik Seidel, Men Nuyen, and others.

Here's a list of World Series of Poker champions in the last 2 decades:

2005 - J. Hachem

2004 - G. Raymer

2003 - C. Moneymaker

2002 - R. Varkonyi

2001 - J.C. Mortensen

2000 - C. Ferguson

1999 - N. Furlong

1998 - S. Nguyen

1997 - S. Ungar

1996 - H. Seed

1995 - D. Harrington

1994 - R. Hamilton

1993 - J. Bechtel

1992 - H. Dastmalchi

1991 - B. Daugherty

1990 - M. Matloubi

1989 - P. Hellmuth, Jr.

1988 - J. Chan

1987 - J. Chan

1986 - B. Johnston

The in-depth latest WSOP results, Series of Poker schedule as well as detailed information about each year's main event is available on official WSOP web site.
This artilce has been viewed: 0 times this month, and 82 times in total since published.

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Trying to get property of non-object

Filename: article/index.php

Line Number: 144">

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined variable: sim

Filename: article/index.php

Line Number: 144

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Trying to get property of non-object

Filename: article/index.php

Line Number: 144