Deciding to get a divorce is not a decision a couple makes lightly. However, once that decision is made, many couples think it's just a matter of going to court for paperwork and that's all. In fact, many divorces can be much more involved in that. There are a number of New Hampshire divorce law resources available via the internet that give easy-to-understand interpretations of the law and can help you understand what you need to do.
One such resource for New Hampshire divorce frequently asked questions (FAQ's) is divorcenet.com. When deciding to get a divorce, you first have to determine in which state the divorce can be granted. According New Hampshire divorce law, a divorce can be granted if both the husband and wife live in the State of New Hampshire at the time the divorce is filed, if the person filing lives in New Hampshire and their spouse is served with the divorce papers in New Hampshire or if the person filing lives in New Hampshire for at least one year prior to filing for the divorce.
Another resource, divorcesource.com, advises that once it is determined that New Hampshire divorce laws apply, you then need to decide on what grounds to file for the divorce. The most common reason listed for New Hampshire divorce filings is No Fault, commonly known as irreconcilable differences. There are however, 10 Fault reasons that allow 1 party to file for divorce even if the other is not willing. Those 10 New Hampshire divorce Fault reasons are: impotence; adultery; abandonment or not being heard from for at least 2 years; imprisonment with a sentence of more than 1 year served; physical abuse or reasonable fear of physical abuse; desertion without support of wife by husband for at least 2 years; extreme cruelty; habitual drunkenness for at least 2 years; living separately for at least 2 years; and mental abuse.
A New Hampshire divorce action is commenced by filing a Libel for divorce. This is a document that gives the names and addresses of each person, as well as a wide variety of personal information including any minor children, assets, and debts, as well as the need for alimony, child support and more. If a divorce is amenable to both parties, commonly described as uncontested, and there are no children involved, a New Hampshire divorce may be granted in as little as 3 to 4 months. However, if there are more serious issues and/or children involved, the process can take over a year.
According to most of the New Hampshire divorce resources available, one of the most important things you can do if you are facing a divorce is to find an attorney. In a divorce, NH attorneys will explain the details to you and ensure you are being properly represented in court. Even if the divorce is uncontested, you should still have an attorney just to be safe.
While divorce may seem more and more common in today's society, New Hampshire divorce statistics are actually lower as compared to other states in the US. In Divorce Management Magazine, divorce, NH statistics for 1998 reported just over 7,000 cases. Fortunately there are still many resources about New Hampshire divorce available for those who need it.